Winning Motor Vehicle Cases
Motor vehicle criminal offenses are unlike any other type of criminal offense; after all, in most of these cases the driver did not intend to commit a crime. He may have exercised poor judgment, consumed more alcohol than prudent, or panicked following an accident, but he did not set out that day to violate our laws. Indeed, the majority of those who have been charged with a motor vehicle offense are typical, everyday folks who find themselves in the unfamiliar position of being a “criminal” defendant. Retain an experienced Massachusetts criminal defense lawyer to represent you.
The police are strictly enforcing motor vehicle offense today and the District Attorneys’ Offices are more aggressively prosecuting these drivers. And, unfortunately, a conviction for many of these offenses results in the suspension of the individual’s license.
Many individuals, perhaps prematurely convinced of the hopelessness of their situation and believing a lawyer cannot accomplish much on their behalf, opt to handle a “simple” motor vehicle offense themselves. This could prove to be a mistake. Give us a call to arrange a consultation. We will discuss the possibilities, and what we can reasonably accomplish for you, as well as our legal fees. Should you decide to against retaining us, you owe us no fee.
The Mahoney Criminal Defense Group is a premier Massachusetts criminal defense firm. We have successfully defended hundreds of individuals who have been charged with motor vehicles offenses, including motor vehicle homicide, operating under the influence, and leaving the scene of an accident. Call us at 617-492-0055 to arrange a free consultation.
We represent individuals charged with:
- Operating Under the Influence (OUI, DWI, DUI)
- Motor Vehicle Homicide
- Driving to Endanger
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Driving After License Suspension or Revocation
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Every driver has the responsibility, following a collision, to stop and provide his name, address, and registration to either the other driver, the pedestrian, or responding police. The charge of leaving the scene of an accident is self-explanatory, though the penalties vary significantly depending upon whether the driver caused property damage or a personal injury. Under G.L. c. 90, §24(2)(a), a conviction for leaving the scene of property damage is punishable by a fine of up to $200.00 or imprisonment for not less than two weeks nor more than two years, or both and loss of license for 60 days. A conviction for leaving the scene of personal injury, but not resulting in death, is punishable by imprisonment for not less than six months nor more than two years, a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1000.00 and loss of license for one year. Under G.L. c. 90, §24(2)(a)(2), a conviction for leaving the scene of a personal injury that causes the victim’s death is punishable in state prison for not less than two and a half years, nor more than 10 years and fines of up to $5,000.00, or imprisonment in the House of Correction for not less than one year nor more than two and a half years and fines of up to $5000.00, and loss of license for three years.
While the statutes governing these offenses suggest that the periods of incarceration, as well as the fines, are mandatory, G.L. c. 90, §24(2)(a)(2) contains no “mandatory minimums.” Therefore, it is possible to persuade a judge to impose less severe penalties. And, finally, oftentimes a charge of leaving the scene of an accident is defensible.
Driving With A Revoked or Suspended License
A first offense is punishable by a fine of $500.00 to $1,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than ten days.
A “road race” has been defined as a competition between two or more motor vehicle operators or a wager to exceed the posted speed limit. A conviction is punished by a fine of up to $200.00 or imprisonment for not less than two weeks nor more than two years, or both. For a conviction, the Registry of Motor Vehicles suspends the driver’s license for 60 days.